Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
SNMP querying cable modems
binkybonky Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 8
Threads: 5
Joined: Jan 2022
Reputation: 0
#1
Question  SNMP querying cable modems
Managed to get root shell access on both the Atom and ARM cores of my Puma 7 based cable modem. Cool  (Hitron CHITA)

Did some packet capture with tcpdump and confirmed that the community string from the .cm file is definitely being used to query the cable modem using SNMP.  Exclamation

But, when I try to use snmpget or snmpwalk myself, even just trying to query my own cable modem, I get a timeout!  Huh

Anyone know why and how I might resolve this?
15-06-2022, 08:59 PM
Find Reply
elbarto Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 15
Threads: 3
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 0
#2
RE: SNMP querying cable modems
Probably SNMP filter, try other ways to gotta do what you wanna do.
(This post was last modified: 30-06-2022, 01:12 AM by elbarto.)
27-06-2022, 12:05 AM
Find Reply
Rickz Offline
Haxorware Enthusiast
***

Posts: 31
Threads: 4
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 2
#3
RE: SNMP querying cable modems
(15-06-2022, 08:59 PM)binkybonky Wrote:
Quote:Managed to get root shell access on both the Atom and ARM cores of my Puma 7 based cable modem. Cool  (Hitron CHITA)

Did some packet capture with tcpdump and confirmed that the community string from the .cm file is definitely being used to query the cable modem using SNMP.  Exclamation

But, when I try to use snmpget or snmpwalk myself, even just trying to query my own cable modem, I get a timeout!  Huh

Anyone know why and how I might resolve this?


try disabling any firewall between you and target , also could be posible it uses snmp v3
(This post was last modified: 23-07-2022, 02:41 AM by Rickz.)
23-07-2022, 02:40 AM
Find Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)