Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[OFF] [Help]How to use all modems at same time on single pc?
Author Message
docsispero Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 2
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
[OFF] [Help]How to use all modems at same time on single pc?
Hi all, I have 3x SB6141 running forceWare 1.4 mod2, getting almost avrg 200Mbps per modem, How do I combine all connection and run them all at same time?
29-03-2018 02:19 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ricktendo Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 190
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 20
Post: #2
RE: [OFF] [Help]How to use all modems at same time on single pc?
You need a router that can do "load balancing," Mikrotik or Ubiquity make routers that can do this but it will take some networking skills to accomplish this. (you can probably even do it with a home wifi router flashed with tomato, openwrt or ddwrt)

I am sure there are other dual wan routers out there but I am not familiar with them.

search for dual wan + openwrt or ddwrt or tomato
(This post was last modified: 29-03-2018 02:32 PM by ricktendo.)
29-03-2018 02:29 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
drewmerc Offline
Prefect
******

Posts: 3,852
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 156
Post: #3
RE: [OFF] [Help]How to use all modems at same time on single pc?
an old computer(with a few network cards) and https://www.pfsense.org/ is what i used back before cheap dual wan routers

still retired but while stuff is currently interesting i'll give this a try https://discord.gg/gNyRVKW
29-03-2018 05:21 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
occalifornia Offline
Haxorware Expert
*****

Posts: 666
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 9
Post: #4
RE: [OFF] [Help]How to use all modems at same time on single pc?
(29-03-2018 05:21 PM)drewmerc Wrote:  an old computer(with a few network cards) and https://www.pfsense.org/ is what i used back before cheap dual wan routers

I second this. pfSense with several gigabit PCIe cards will do you wonders. It's all controllable via a webui too if you're less inclined.

1 x gigabit for your PC / local LAN
Y x gigabit for your modems

Have 5 modems pulling in 200/20? You could have up to 1000/100 in combined throughout.

pfSense also lets you setup failover. One of your modems goes offline? It sends the traffic through the remaining good modems.

Heart

Your ISP bill must be high! Angel

Want to help mitigate Theft of Service to this great hobby? Go to the Theft of Service Postings Thread, Cool

Disclaimer: My comments are for legitimate diagnostics and testing ONLY.
29-03-2018 06:28 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
joejoe402012 Offline
Haxorware Enthusiast
***

Posts: 33
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #5
RE: [OFF] [Help]How to use all modems at same time on single pc?
(29-03-2018 06:28 PM)occalifornia Wrote:  
(29-03-2018 05:21 PM)drewmerc Wrote:  an old computer(with a few network cards) and https://www.pfsense.org/ is what i used back before cheap dual wan routers

I second this. pfSense with several gigabit PCIe cards will do you wonders. It's all controllable via a webui too if you're less inclined.

1 x gigabit for your PC / local LAN
Y x gigabit for your modems

Have 5 modems pulling in 200/20? You could have up to 1000/100 in combined throughout.

pfSense also lets you setup failover. One of your modems goes offline? It sends the traffic through the remaining good modems.

Heart

Your ISP bill must be high! Angel

I use a TP-link TL-ER5120 Load Balancer Broadband Router, I have 2 modems hooked to it, and combined the download/upload
30-03-2018 04:23 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
occalifornia Offline
Haxorware Expert
*****

Posts: 666
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 9
Post: #6
RE: [OFF] [Help]How to use all modems at same time on single pc?
(30-03-2018 04:23 AM)joejoe402012 Wrote:  
(29-03-2018 06:28 PM)occalifornia Wrote:  
(29-03-2018 05:21 PM)drewmerc Wrote:  an old computer(with a few network cards) and https://www.pfsense.org/ is what i used back before cheap dual wan routers

I second this. pfSense with several gigabit PCIe cards will do you wonders. It's all controllable via a webui too if you're less inclined.

1 x gigabit for your PC / local LAN
Y x gigabit for your modems

Have 5 modems pulling in 200/20? You could have up to 1000/100 in combined throughout.

pfSense also lets you setup failover. One of your modems goes offline? It sends the traffic through the remaining good modems.

Heart

Your ISP bill must be high! Angel

I use a TP-link TL-ER5120 Load Balancer Broadband Router, I have 2 modems hooked to it, and combined the download/upload

That's not a bad deal for $199 MSRP. Cool

Want to help mitigate Theft of Service to this great hobby? Go to the Theft of Service Postings Thread, Cool

Disclaimer: My comments are for legitimate diagnostics and testing ONLY.
30-03-2018 04:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
newname Offline
Haxorware Expert
*****

Posts: 339
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 15
Post: #7
RE: [OFF] [Help]How to use all modems at same time on single pc?
Are you being facetious....Orange....??
31-03-2018 06:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
occalifornia Offline
Haxorware Expert
*****

Posts: 666
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 9
Post: #8
RE: [OFF] [Help]How to use all modems at same time on single pc?
(31-03-2018 06:05 PM)newname Wrote:  Are you being facetious....Orange....??

$200 for a COTS multi wan router from a reputable company is a good deal.

Are you being facetious.. new orleans? Heart

Want to help mitigate Theft of Service to this great hobby? Go to the Theft of Service Postings Thread, Cool

Disclaimer: My comments are for legitimate diagnostics and testing ONLY.
31-03-2018 07:43 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
newname Offline
Haxorware Expert
*****

Posts: 339
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 15
Post: #9
RE: [OFF] [Help]How to use all modems at same time on single pc?
No, I am not....
You are just so cute.....!!!
01-04-2018 06:13 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)