Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
SB5100 Power light is blinking
southernyankey1970 Away
Retired!
*****

Posts: 1,483
Threads: 24
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 65
#11
RE: SB5100 Power light is blinking
(08-03-2013, 07:02 PM)Florida Wrote:
(08-03-2013, 06:38 PM)Goooey Wrote:
(08-03-2013, 05:54 PM)southernyankey1970 Wrote: ummm, yeah. You want a cfg that actually has an upstream and downstream value. Your setup is smoked! Try a new one with a new nic addy.

I don't really understand what you ment to say I'm new at this, I removed all spliters to the modem to increase the signal still nothing.

maybe you should do some reading.

signal strength has nothing whatsoever to do with how fast your modem can tx and rx information. A bad signal will cause it to drop connections or not connect at all.

The cfg file is the ConFiGuration file. This is like a camshaft in a car engine. It tells the modem the parameters it is alloweed to operate on and it tells the cm how fast it can tx and rx info on the ISP's network. Your no bpi.cm cfg file is a file sent to stop your modem in it's tracks.You are on a BPI (Baseline Privacy enabled )network which means, that you need to be on the list to get into the party. You, my friend, are NOT on the list! Try a fresh setup that IS on the list.
09-03-2013, 04:13 AM
Find Reply
Goooey Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 6
Threads: 1
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 0
#12
RE: SB5100 Power light is blinking
I did some reading and I noticed that you can disable your bpi. Would this possibly work?
09-03-2013, 04:57 AM
Find Reply
southernyankey1970 Away
Retired!
*****

Posts: 1,483
Threads: 24
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 65
#13
RE: SB5100 Power light is blinking
(09-03-2013, 04:57 AM)Goooey Wrote: I did some reading and I noticed that you can disable your bpi. Would this possibly work?
Only if your ISP allows a cm to operate that way, but , no that will not make you get a valid cfg file.
You REALLY need to spend a few weeks over at SBH JUST READING! Start off here...

http://www.sbhacker.net/forum/forum/2-faq/

Great writeup here:

http://www.sbhacker.net/forum/topic/1138...his-hobby/

then this:

http://www.sbhacker.net/forum/forum/8-sb...rd-series/

THEN, and only THEN!

Go here:

http://www.sbhacker.net/forum/forum/131-haxorware/

Icompletely understand your now sudden need to understand all of this immediately so you can get that box to work again, but without the basic understanding how a cm works you are done already! No one is going to hand feed you answers that have been asked, answered, and reposted 1000 different ways already. That's the very best advice i can think to give you.
(This post was last modified: 09-03-2013, 06:12 AM by southernyankey1970.)
09-03-2013, 06:08 AM
Find Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)