Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
I need help (Ambit 255)
blueflamez Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 12
Threads: 1
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
#1
I need help (Ambit 255)
[/b]how's it going board, and thank you in advance, as always any help is much appreciated.

first off i just got the blackcat jtag usb with all the software on disc to use it.. i managed to install the drivers and pretty much set it up, atleast i think....

anyways, i have a Ambit 255 cable modem that im trying to learn the in's and out's of...

Problem: the problem is (and im sure that anyone of you that has dealt with this before should know) that the connector that leads from the jtag to the modem has the 10pin head (plastic) fitting. The modem has a 5pin jtag connection i guess already on the modem... of course that's not enough, i have 10pin headers (solderless kind) but i dont know where to place it if i even need to that is...

can i use the 5pin for anything or do i need to install the 10pin header?? if yes then where??

Again any feedback answering this would be much appreciated
16-12-2012, 02:20 AM
Find Reply
sixteen Offline
Haxorware Expert
*****

Posts: 390
Threads: 33
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 6
#2
RE: I need help (Ambit 255)
(16-12-2012, 02:20 AM)blueflamez Wrote: [/b]how's it going board, and thank you in advance, as always any help is much appreciated.

first off i just got the blackcat jtag usb with all the software on disc to use it.. i managed to install the drivers and pretty much set it up, atleast i think....

anyways, i have a Ambit 255 cable modem that im trying to learn the in's and out's of...

Problem: the problem is (and im sure that anyone of you that has dealt with this before should know) that the connector that leads from the jtag to the modem has the 10pin head (plastic) fitting. The modem has a 5pin jtag connection i guess already on the modem... of course that's not enough, i have 10pin headers (solderless kind) but i dont know where to place it if i even need to that is...

can i use the 5pin for anything or do i need to install the 10pin header?? if yes then where??

Again any feedback answering this would be much appreciated

am not real sure, but i think the ambit have SPI FLASH


Attached Files Thumbnail(s)
   
16-12-2012, 05:01 AM
Find Reply
drewmerc Offline
Prefect
******

Posts: 3,902
Threads: 19
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 157
#3
RE: I need help (Ambit 255)
spi only, there is no jtag the 5 pin header is ttl/serial
__________________________________________________________________________________
******new discord chat link https://discord.gg/5BQQbsb*******
16-12-2012, 03:46 PM
Website Find Reply
southernyankey1970 Away
Retired!
*****

Posts: 1,483
Threads: 24
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 65
#4
RE: I need help (Ambit 255)
http://dx.com/p/data-cable-compatible-wi...-ca-42-446


buy one of those and cut the end off. easy hookup for a serial connection. $4.44 almost free! Your best bet, though, imho is to get a 5101 as they are the easiest to start off with. you do not need to solder anything if you have the pogo pins...
16-12-2012, 03:53 PM
Find Reply
blueflamez Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 12
Threads: 1
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
#5
RE: I need help (Ambit 255)
ok,

let me try to understand this, ttl/serial cable is this max232 cable?? and it has to be ran through a serial port (COM) in order for it to recognize it... the max232 cable setup looks a bit akward setting up... more or less i can't use to because my laptop doesn't have a COM port... ok so i can only use the cable i have (which doesn't need to be ran through any COM port at anytime i hope) with the 10pin headers on SB4xxx, SB5xxxx, DCM315, etc... well actually that last statement is part question lol, as in i don't need the COM ports to try and mod those modems since they work with the 10pin headers, right?

Thank you guys for helping me

can you guys give me a link to maybe an ebay user with the appropriate cord to mod the Ambit, again im new to this, and after searching myself there are so many variations of this cord im confused...

Thank you
(This post was last modified: 16-12-2012, 04:43 PM by blueflamez.)
16-12-2012, 04:00 PM
Find Reply
southernyankey1970 Away
Retired!
*****

Posts: 1,483
Threads: 24
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 65
#6
RE: I need help (Ambit 255)
correct...

The link i gave you is a usb serial cable(max232 already ported thru usb!). Google nokia ca42 serial diagram to see how easy it is to use it as a serial flashing device.

Since you have a Blackcat usb I again suggest you start off with the 5101(NOT 5101u or 5101n) as that is what 99% of all testers use. A cisco/webstar 2100r2 is the same chipset as the 5101 but requires the 8 pin adapter to flash with a bc usb .
16-12-2012, 05:59 PM
Find Reply
blueflamez Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 12
Threads: 1
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
#7
RE: I need help (Ambit 255)
yes, i see, the nokia cord does look pretty simple, anything usb is great for me since i can't use COM port setups at this present time, i will look into purchasing that cable, in the meantime you say the 5101 would be a good start so i'll start there so i don't confuse myself 2 much, especially if i have to have all these different headers for different boards (8 pin header?), i don't have those cables yet.

Thank You for your help fellas
(This post was last modified: 17-12-2012, 03:06 PM by blueflamez.)
17-12-2012, 03:05 PM
Find Reply
blueflamez Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 12
Threads: 1
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
#8
RE: I need help (Ambit 255)
hey guys, i was just checking ebay today and found this post

http://www.ebay.com/itm/USB-To-SERIAL-TT...27ce2c89ad

I'm interested in this item because it looks pretty easy to use and again im hoping to get the ambit running via usb... is this a good item to get the job done?
22-12-2012, 04:26 PM
Find Reply
drewmerc Offline
Prefect
******

Posts: 3,902
Threads: 19
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 157
#9
RE: I need help (Ambit 255)
why pay 9 bucks when you can pay 1.60 http://www.ebay.com/itm/CP2102-USB-2-0-U...2749869%26
__________________________________________________________________________________
******new discord chat link https://discord.gg/5BQQbsb*******
22-12-2012, 08:45 PM
Website Find Reply
blueflamez Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 12
Threads: 1
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
#10
RE: I need help (Ambit 255)
lol your right, but the only difference is the other 1 is buy now that one their bidding so it takes longer... other then that its a nice price
22-12-2012, 10:40 PM
Find Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)