Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 1 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
clone stock dpc2100r2 to stock dpc2100
CableGuRu Offline
Haxorware Enthusiast
***

Posts: 24
Threads: 3
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
#1
clone stock dpc2100r2 to stock dpc2100
First off I want to thank drewmerc because I found a post on here were he helped another member flash his dpc2100 to stock. I am using my dpc2100r2 stock on Comcast now and I was given a dpc2100 last year that was bricked and no backup was done by the prev owner. I decided to pull it out and see what I can do with it and I used your files and flashed the bootloader then image1 and then my cfg (nonvol) from my dpc2100r2. What is weird is that the modem that was bricked is labeled a dpc2100r2 but my dpc2100r2 backup wouldnt work on it but your dpc2100 did. I had to short the tsop out to reflash it but it worked.

My question is, would it work like this if I had to use this modem as a backup or should I just flash Haxorware to this modem and play around with it?

[Image: compareh.jpg]
11-07-2012, 01:48 AM
Find Reply
abusetheelderly Offline
Haxorware Enthusiast
***

Posts: 90
Threads: 1
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 2
#2
RE: clone stock dpc2100r2 to stock dpc2100
It should work as a backup. no need to flash hax on it. You cannot use both though on the same node.
11-07-2012, 01:50 AM
Find Reply
CableGuRu Offline
Haxorware Enthusiast
***

Posts: 24
Threads: 3
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
#3
RE: clone stock dpc2100r2 to stock dpc2100
(11-07-2012, 01:50 AM)abusetheelderly Wrote: It should work as a backup. no need to flash hax on it. You cannot use both though on the same node.

ok cool. I was just worried about the hardware versions being different
11-07-2012, 01:51 AM
Find Reply
abusetheelderly Offline
Haxorware Enthusiast
***

Posts: 90
Threads: 1
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 2
#4
RE: clone stock dpc2100r2 to stock dpc2100
both should be the same hardware man with a BCM3349 flash inside. Dont worry about it. Its good.
11-07-2012, 02:03 AM
Find Reply
CableGuRu Offline
Haxorware Enthusiast
***

Posts: 24
Threads: 3
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
#5
RE: clone stock dpc2100r2 to stock dpc2100
(11-07-2012, 02:01 AM)Tropical Wrote:
(11-07-2012, 01:51 AM)CableGuRu Wrote:
(11-07-2012, 01:50 AM)abusetheelderly Wrote: It should work as a backup. no need to flash hax on it. You cannot use both though on the same node.

ok cool. I was just worried about the hardware versions being different

They Are Different A DPC2100 Uses A BCM3348 Chipset And The DPC2100R2 Uses A BCM3349 Chipset. On The 2100R2 You Can Flash Haxorware And On The 2100 You Can Flash Either "5100MoD" Or "Sigma". I Recommend 5100MoD.
It has a BCM3349 in it like my dpc2100r2, I checked it when it didnt work with my other modems backup
(11-07-2012, 02:03 AM)abusetheelderly Wrote: both should be the same hardware man with a BCM3349 flash inside. Dont worry about it. Its good.
ok thank you
11-07-2012, 02:07 AM
Find Reply
CableGuRu Offline
Haxorware Enthusiast
***

Posts: 24
Threads: 3
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
#6
RE: clone stock dpc2100r2 to stock dpc2100
I was thinking I might flash haxorware to the backup mdm and change the nonvol out. I have a nonvol with valid certs but it pulls walledgarden and is from another Scientific Atlantic mdm.

I was just curious if I might be able to make a mac work that is pulling a config if I don't have the certs. from what I have been reading it is and isn't possible. I am seeing some posts were some are getting online with the new security on cc and others are saying certs have to be valid. I will play with it and see what I can do. I need to learn more telnet commands anyway.
(This post was last modified: 12-07-2012, 04:45 AM by CableGuRu.)
12-07-2012, 04:44 AM
Find Reply
forcerip Offline
Haxorware Enthusiast
***

Posts: 24
Threads: 4
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
#7
RE: clone stock dpc2100r2 to stock dpc2100
Hello everybody,
I'm a new member and new learner as well. I just flashed 1.1 Rev39 on my Webster dpc2100. It says everything went well. Btw I used putty and tftdp32. Now it doesn't boot. All of the lights are solid green except PC light. Is this modem bricked or normal? And btw I used Max232 with DB9 cable.
Any help is appreciated.
Thanks
(This post was last modified: 17-07-2012, 03:35 AM by forcerip.)
17-07-2012, 03:17 AM
Find Reply
southernyankey1970 Away
Retired!
*****

Posts: 1,483
Threads: 24
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 65
#8
RE: clone stock dpc2100r2 to stock dpc2100
reflash the bootloader. Then reflash the stock dump. Do this until you debrick your nice shiny Brick o' matic. I am assuming that you meant the 2100r2 which is a 3349 chip and NOT the 2100 which is a 3348 chip.

These are from the Haxorware disk and might be blacklisted in your ISP but they will do as a debrick bin. I don't have any of the 2100 dumps but you should be able to find one easily enough.
17-07-2012, 03:49 AM
Find Reply
forcerip Offline
Haxorware Enthusiast
***

Posts: 24
Threads: 4
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
#9
RE: clone stock dpc2100r2 to stock dpc2100
(17-07-2012, 03:49 AM)southernyankey1970 Wrote: reflash the bootloader. Then reflash the stock dump. Do this until you debrick your nice shiny Brick o' matic. I am assuming that you meant the 2100r2 which is a 3349 chip and NOT the 2100 which is a 3348 chip.

These are from the Haxorware disk and might be blacklisted in your ISP but they will do as a debrick bin. I don't have any of the 2100 dumps but you should be able to find one easily enough.

Thanks but I have BCM3348 chip. It's dpc2100. Not r2 version. It says BCM3348KPB on the chip.

Update 1: I used the file provided. R1 Stock. It got flashed, and now there are no any lights........Any ideas what happened? And now I can't even log into the modem. On the putty page it just displays the CHIP model and number 100000... something. And nothing happens.....

Update 2: No led lights on the modem at all but shows limited connectivity on the computer. What's happening?
(This post was last modified: 17-07-2012, 05:16 AM by forcerip.)
17-07-2012, 04:01 AM
Find Reply
abusetheelderly Offline
Haxorware Enthusiast
***

Posts: 90
Threads: 1
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 2
#10
RE: clone stock dpc2100r2 to stock dpc2100
(17-07-2012, 04:01 AM)forcerip Wrote:
(17-07-2012, 03:49 AM)southernyankey1970 Wrote: reflash the bootloader. Then reflash the stock dump. Do this until you debrick your nice shiny Brick o' matic. I am assuming that you meant the 2100r2 which is a 3349 chip and NOT the 2100 which is a 3348 chip.

These are from the Haxorware disk and might be blacklisted in your ISP but they will do as a debrick bin. I don't have any of the 2100 dumps but you should be able to find one easily enough.

Thanks but I have BCM3348 chip. It's dpc2100. Not r2 version. It says BCM3348KPB on the chip.


then you can't flash hax to it. You need a dpc2100 dump for BCM3348 chip. You must use sb5100mod firmware for it.
(This post was last modified: 17-07-2012, 04:08 AM by abusetheelderly.)
17-07-2012, 04:08 AM
Find Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)