Haxorware Forums
Complete newbie. Have question about getting online using a modded modem - Printable Version

+- Haxorware Forums (http://www.haxorware.com/forums)
+-- Forum: General (http://www.haxorware.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=6)
+--- Forum: Modems (http://www.haxorware.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=7)
+--- Thread: Complete newbie. Have question about getting online using a modded modem (/showthread.php?tid=1337)

Pages: 1 2 3

Complete newbie. Have question about getting online using a modded modem - catsgomeow - 22-01-2012

Hi,
So i live in a back house on a 2 on a lot. The front house received Comcast cable, but since "upgrading" to higher speeds my wireless connection is almost non-existent -though the signal is stronger the speed is much slower.

At my old house my buddy is a network admin and had a Surfboard modem modded which allowed us to get free cable internet. Since i pay my share of the cost of the modem in the front house I wanted to see if I could install a similar Surfboard modem in my back house. I found this http://www.ebay.com/itm/Motorola-SURFboard-SB5101-Modem-MODDED-PREMOD-PREMODIFIED-HAXORWARE-REV39-/130617968190?pt=PCC_Modems&hash=item1e6970063e#ht_1238wt_922 . I'm not sure if this suffice to just plug in and surf the net. What else would be needed? Would I have to call my ISP and tell them I've added a new modem?

Thanks for any help!

RE: Complete newbie. Have question about getting online using a modded modem - drewmerc - 22-01-2012

no it's not plug and play and yes you need a valid subscription (it's a lot of hard work)

RE: Complete newbie. Have question about getting online using a modded modem - catsgomeow - 22-01-2012

could you direct me on where I could get a plug and play?

RE: Complete newbie. Have question about getting online using a modded modem - drewmerc - 22-01-2012

you cant, not any more, if anybody says they can it's a lie